Ashikaga Winter Illumination

February 4, 2017

It’s like LED Lights fairy puked all over the place. There’s a lot of lights and there’s far, FAR too much lights. Ashikaga Flower Park is on the way too much spectrum.

I had so much hope! The place was so pretty during the day. Quick suggestions to management:

  • Tone it down. I know, I know, you have a couple of million LED. But as what was taught in my strategy class, sometimes it’s about the things NOT to do.
  • Segregate. I liked the concept in Yomiuri Land – there’s a theme in each location, and enough distance between the two locations. In Ashikaga, I can’t even take a picture of one theme without the other theme in the background.
  • Go for impact. Go for big shows, not minor ones that plays every 5 minutes. Let’s say on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the most spectacular, I’d rather see three 8’s than twenty 2’s.

It started off so well. Look how pretty these are.

The rose garden was pretty much the highlight for me.

See the rose garden? Then right behind it, the other gardens? No, you cannot stop and just appreciate one garden – the other ones will be glaring at you in the background.
there’s lights overhead and lights on the ground. This is so not the Japanese concept of simplicity.
They tried to recreate the wisterias. It was pretty.
Even the Torii was pretty.
Ah. the amazing flower that blooms during winter.
This is why I say the LED fairy threw up. I mean, she really did.
Who cares about simplicity and “less is more”?! LIGHTS! LIGHTS! LIGHTS!

 

Leave a Reply

