A Walk to Remember: Naha Edition

p_20170304_181339

^This is the picture in my “Where’s the bus stop” post . Because seriously – the bus stops are just small signs that is a big challenge to see! Thank goodness for google maps. But you’re screwed if your battery dies – as mine did.

February 2017

I went to Okinawa World, then on my way back, apparently you have to go through the entire park to exit!!! Grrrr! Six months later and it still makes me mad!!!!!!!!!!!!

So I was late for less than two minutes to the bus stop, and the next bus comes in after two hours. Yes, that’s how significant those precious two minutes were.

I had a choice – go back to the labyrinth of Okinawa World’s shops, or walk to the next point in my itinerary – the Peace Museum. No way am I going back to that Okinawa World.

So I started walking. It was a really long walk, guided by the trustworthy google maps. The two hour walk though per google maps turned to three hours given my speed. I walked through fields and saw different crops that they raise. For example, I passed through broccoli on my way:

P_20170304_181138.jpg

A couple of hours later, I finally saw the Peace Museum…

P_20170304_172523.jpg

Which has been closed at that time. So I just explored the grounds.

And then my phone died. And the bus schedule in the bus stop was torn. So. I decided to take a walk again, this way to go back but through the main road (so that in case a bus comes in I can just run to it). The way back was a pretty spectacular view though.

P_20170304_180444.jpg

Fortunately, I stumbled upon a new bus stop. Stumbled coz really,  you can’t see the signs from afar. So when I got to one, lo and behold, there was an updated bus schedule (for the weekend! there’s a different schedule for weekend/weekday). Guess what? I was going the wrong way. But the bus was coming in, and thankfully, the bus driver understood me when all I was saying was “Naha? Naha? Naha! Nahaaaaa!”

p_20170304_181339

So we went the other way, he took me to the bus station, and walked me to the next bus stop. Yes, walked me to the next bus stop. Because the thing is, he pointed a place and I went the wrong way, so he ran after me and decided to walk me to the next bus. haha

 

Leave a Reply

