Arashiyama’s Unagi

July 20, 2017

I wanted to eat the famous steak in Arashiyama, but they are closed on Thursdays and guess what day it was? Oh well, I therefore decided to move on and go to the other famous restaurant – the unagi place.

Timeline:

  • 10:40 I was in line. There are more than ten people already in line by the time I got here
  • 10:55 A lady goes out to ask us how many per table
  • 11:12 They allowed us in, and we were immediately seated. Orders are taken as soon as you are ready.
  • 11:25 Unagi was served

I bought the course set, so it was JPY3900. The donburi (unagi on top of rice), medium is JPY2,900. The menu is available online, so you can simply check it out (Unagi Hirokawa). I actually got lost looking for the restaurant, and when I asked people I simply said “unagi”. They already would know what you’re looking for – that’s how famous the place is.

IMG_3369.JPG
Here’s the inside of the place.
and here’s the “garden” that serves as your view when eating.

Leave a comment